God’s House and the Way to Get There – JOHN 14:1-14

“Don’t let your hearts be troubled. Trust in God, and trust also in me. 

Key Verse:  2 There is more than enough room in my Father’s home.  If this were not so, would I have told you that I am going to prepare a place for you?   3 When everything is ready, I will come and get you, so that you will always be with me where I am. 4 And you know the way to where I am going.”

 5 “No, we don’t know, Lord,” Thomas said. “We have no idea where you are going, so how can we know the way?”

Key Verse:   6 Jesus told him, “I am the way, the truth, and the life. No one can come to the Father except through me. 7 If you had really known me, you would know who my Father is.[c] From now on, you do know him and have seen him!”

 8 Philip said, “Lord, show us the Father, and we will be satisfied.”

(9-11)  Jesus asks Philip how he cannot know who He is after all he has seen Jesus do.  Doesn’t he believe that He and the Father are one and the same?  Again, (Jesus) speaks his Father’s words, not His own.  Philip should at least believe because of the work (the miracles) he has seen Jesus do.

 12 “I tell you the truth, anyone who believes in me will do the same works I have done, and even greater works, because I am going to be with the Father. 13 You can ask for anything in my name, and I will do it, so that the Son can bring glory to the Father. 14 Yes, ask me for anything in my name, and I will do it!

NOTES ON 1-14

v. 5, 9-11 –When I first read these and similar verses, I was really annoyed with Thomas and Philip.  How can someone so close to Jesus not “get it”?  

Thomas and Philip are not unique.  Many people of today hear the same message and see evidence of Jesus’ truth, and they still don’t comprehend it.   I was 38 when I first understood what it meant to be ‘saved’, and that trusting Jesus was different than an academic belief that he was God’s Son.   Before that time, I probably heard the message somewhere, and I knew a few true Christians, but I did not acknowledge what I heard or saw.

v. 6 – *Some argue that the Christian way to God is too narrow.  In reality, it is wide enough for the whole world, if the world chooses to accept it.  Let’s be thankful that God provides one sure way to get to Him.

Here’s a thought:  If there were more than one way to heaven, the sacrifice of Jesus would have been unnecessary. 

v. 12-13 – *Jesus is not saying that his disciples would do greater works – after all, raising the dead is about as amazing as you can get.  Rather, the disciples, working in the power of the Holy Spirit, would carry the Good News into the whole world.

v.14 – *Praying in the name of Jesus means asking for something according to God’s character and will.  He will not grant a request contrary to his nature or his plan.  Don’t use his name as a magic formula to fulfill selfish desires.  (He’s not a genie.)  If we sincerely follow God and seek to do his will, our requests will be in line with what he wants, and he will grant them.

*Notes from the Life Application Study Bible.

Thoughts on v. 2:  This reference to “my Father’s home” evokes a special, wonderful image for the end of my life (or when Jesus comes back, whichever comes first).  It fills my mind with images.  Here’s the picture this verse paints in my mind:

 A path lined with all kinds of flowers, or maybe following a rushing mountain stream, leads me to a huge house.  Jesus walks with me (if I go by v. 3) or maybe he opens the door from the inside.  He welcomes me with a warm, loving embrace.   As I move further into the house, he gestures toward my loved ones who had put their trust in Him and passed on before me.  My beautiful golden retriever, Chelsie, is there, sitting next to my grandparents, who are young and beaming with joy.  We hug, I play with Chelsie, and maybe they show me to my room.  My room has a view of whatever I want it to at any moment.  The number of floors and rooms, and the staircase, are infinite.  The yard is endless as well, and nobody has to mow it.

At some point when I arrive, I will have to explain those instances when I chose not to obey God on earth.  My goal is to have God say, “Well done, good and faithful servant.”

 Heaven is beyond anything we can imagine, but it’s nice to have the anticipation of what it might be like.

Link to Bible Gateway:  http://www.biblegateway.com/passage/?search=John%2014:1-14&version=NLT

to be continued….John 14 is comprised of 31 verses.  The second half teaches us what it means to love God and who the Holy Spirit really is.  It’s difficult to summarize, and there are plenty of notes to share from my Life Application Study Bible, so there will be a separate post on verses 15-31, planned for tomorrow.

Leave a Reply

