Treasures Found

Last week, I talked about the Bible being a treasure map. Follow it, and among other useful, life-impacting words of value, we find gems of Scripture that cause us to nod and say, yes, I need to write this one down, and to remember that it’s there. Maybe it reminds us to do something differently or change our attitude. It may remind us of God’s love and the sacrifice made to make forgiveness available.

**Note about font formatting: I am trying to learn HTML language so I can enlarge; the font, and it’s a little difficult mainly because I don’t have much time to play with it. I’ll get there eventually. I realize the font is rather small, and I am trying to fix this. I appreciate your patience.  There should be a little zoom magnifying glass symbol in the lower right hand corner of your screen; it allows you an enlarged view.

TREASURES FOUND

These are in New Living Translation unless otherwise noted.  This is just a sampling of Scripture that I apply to my life – or try to.  Sometimes it’s difficult.

Matthew 5:22 reminds me of how easy it is to mess up by sinning.  It tells us that all sins are equal in the eyes of God.

22 But I say, if you are even angry with someone, you are subject to judgment! If you call someone an idiot, you are in danger of being brought before the court. And if you curse someone, you are in danger of the fires of hell.

Luke 12:48 – The second sentence tells me that with my abilities, my gifts, my money, whatever God has given to me, that I have a RESPONSIBILITY to use them for the benefit of others.

48 But someone who does not know, and then does something wrong, will be punished only lightly. When someone has been given much, much will be required in return; and when someone has been entrusted with much, even more will be required.

Zechariah 4:10 –  As I read through this book, learning about Zerubbabel laying the foundation for the Temple, I found this verse and wrote it on an index card.  Whatever I am writing or attempting with my writing, it tells me to not get discouraged, to be patient, to keep going, because I do it for the Lord, and He is rejoicing. 

10 Do not despise these small beginnings, for the Lord rejoices to see the work begin, to see the plumb line in Zerubbabel’s hand.”

1 Timothy 6:7-8 is a great verse to correct me when I want to buy things that I can use but don’t need to spend the money on, or if I start to compare my clothing or other possessions to those of another.         
7 After all, we brought nothing with us when we came into the world, and we can’t take anything with us when we leave it. 8 So if we have enough food and clothing, let us be content.

Ephesians 4:29 is one that I keep posted at my desk (cubicle) at work.  It helps me to have a helpful, understanding, compassionate attitude and tone when I have a difficult phonecall from a financial consultant or assistant.

 29Do not let any unwholesome talk come out of your mouths, but only what is helpful for building others up according to their needs, that it may benefit those who listen.  (New International Version)

Isaiah 55:8-9 reminds me that God’s way is often different than my way, and that I should trust him.   8  “My thoughts are nothing like your thoughts,” says the Lord. “And my ways are far beyond anything you could imagine.  9 For just as the heavens are higher than the earth, so my ways are higher than your ways and my thoughts higher than your thoughts.

Leave a Reply

